Spontaneous Trip!

This time last week I suddenly decided that I wanted to go to Cyprus to visit my auntie. I was fed up of being stuck in the house, due to two weeks off work and I felt I was wasting the little time I had off. So, I decided to look into flights to go as soon as I could, even if it was only for a few days. This is something I have never done before as I usually like to plan out my trips and have them all booked well in advance. But I thought what have I got to lose? All that could go wrong was that I didn’t end up going I suppose. If I want to travel, I need to go when I can, when I have the time!

I searched for hours on Monday morning for flights, working out my cheapest options. I was getting some great prices but I decided to spend the time to get the best deal I can. I actually did find it to be cheaper to book the flights separate in the end. It ended up being half the price from what it would have been if I did it as a package return.

I was quite nervous booking it when I had found the right price I was willing to pay. This would be the first time I have been on a flight on my own. I somehow found the courage and booked the flights. And guess what! I flew out on the Wednesday, two days after booking it! Very spontaneous for me, I couldn’t quite believe I had done it, I was actually quite proud of myself.

However, I did have a bit of trouble with my bookings. I found some amazing flights on ‘onthebeach.com’ for £116 return! How amazing is that?! I went through all the online procedure to book the flights, entering all my information and bank details and everything, for them to ring me up at the end of the day, to tell me I didn’t get on the flights and that they were fully booked! I couldn’t believe it, how can a website show flights that aren’t even available?! I would definitely NOT recommend booking anything with that website. It clearly isn’t very reliable! They couldn’t even offer me any alternative either and they left me thinking all day that my flights were booked and I was going to Cyprus! You can only think how disappointed I was when I found out I wasn’t!! Anyway I won’t go into too much detail; lets just say I wasn’t very happy!

Following this, I had to again search for more flights out to Cyprus, I was determined I was still going, after building up all the courage to go alone. I was limited now as I needed to get them on Wednesday due to other plans I had made! After hours of searching I found a flight that was departuring from Leeds Bradford Airport on the Wednesday with Jet2 for £80, and a flight home with Thomson the following Wednesday for £45!! So I didn’t end up paying too much more, and I actually got to stay a day longer which is even better than the original flights. It all worked out better in the end. A weeks holiday for so cheap too, I wouldn’t have been stupid not to go!

I couldn’t fault the service I had at Leeds Bradford airport with Jet2 for my departure. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming which made me traveling on my own so much more bearable. I had a really great flight, I slept most of the way which made it go even quicker. And I arrived safe and sound to my auntie who was there waiting for my arrival.

This is something I would never have dreamt about doing. I am not the type of person to be so spontaneous and book flights two days before I went. But I must say I have loved it, and it is definitely something I would do again. Flying on your own isn’t that bad at all, there’s always someone around if you may need some help. I highly recommend you do it – Go and see the world!

I can’t wait to share some of my Cyprus experiences with you soon, I’m back home on Wednesday!  Have any of you been on a trip recently? I’d love to hear about them, let me know below!

Speak soon,
Emily Jane
xoxox

2 thoughts on “Spontaneous Trip!

    1. I was the same! I finished university last year and I hadn’t been away in so long, so that was another reason I went ☺️ when all your exams/essays etc are done for this year, you should definitely treat yourself, there are some great deals out there at the moment! 🙂
      emilyjanealittlebitofeverything.wordpress.com

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

