The Complete Canon Starter Pack.

 I told you I wouldn’t get the chance to blog this week didn’t I! I have been so busy, doing 15 hour days. Absolutely no time for myself what so ever! Over the next few weeks I have a little bit more time on I my hands so I will hopefully be blogging a lot more. I have plans to spend a whole weekend learning about photography soon aswell, as I have been wanting to learn more for a while now but just haven’t got round to it! I have a spare weekend coming up so I thought it would be the ideal time and I’m so excited to get started.

I have been looking for a ‘Beginners Guide to Photography’ for a while now and I couldn’t decided which one to go with. I’ve spent hours researching into the books people recommended and never really came to a conclusion! However, this weekend I came across ‘The Complete Canon Starter Pack’ in WH Smiths whilst browsing! I couldn’t believe I had never heard about it, all those hours researching online and it never came up! I’m so happy I have come across this, it seems perfect. Finally something that I know is going to help and something specific to my new camera too. I thought I’d do a post all about the pack to inform other new photography learners, who have a canon camera, on what it has to offer.

The pack was £19.99 from Wh Smiths but there are 5 different elements to the pack so it’s worth every penny! I did manage to get my hands on Volume 1, which is a great bonus. I’m hoping they continue with it so I can progress through the different levels and eventually become a pro! These are the items included in the pack..

1. THE ULTIMATE CANON SLR HANDBOOK VOLUME 1
This is a A4 226 page book that includes everything you need to know about beginner photography. It’s split into 4 chapters which are: 1. Camera Skills, which includes sections such as ‘Mastering your SLR’, ‘Exposure made easy’ and ‘sharpen your shots’. 2. Canon SLR College, which is all about aperature, focusing, exposure, ISO speeds, etc. 3. Photo Projects, which gives you 6 different projects to practice everything you have learnt. 4. Essentials kit, which goes into great detail on lots of different lens, tripods and accessories they recommend you will need.

2. THE ULTIMATE CANON SLR HANDBOOK – CD
This CD was connected to the handbook and is a video tutorial of some selected lessons from the book. This is just a mirrored CD to the book to help you learn in a visual way.

3. MASTER YOUR CANON DSLR CAMERA – DVD ROM
I haven’t used this yet but I think it has to be the best aspect of the pack. It’s a little online photography course which gives you step by step tutorials on specific aspects of photography such as exposure modes, focusing, special effects, manual settings and camera basics. Everything you would learn in a beginners photography live class.

4. THE COMPLETE DICTIONARY OF PHOTOGRAPHY
This is just what it says it is, a little book with all the professional photography terms and a description of what they mean.

5. EXCLUSIVE DIGITAL CAMERA LANDSCAPE CARDS – 9 TIP CARDS
These are little cards that give you tips on different techniques to try when taking pictures of a landscape. It discusses how to improve your shot, what shutter speed each technique should be using and generally what you need to do to get the perfect landscape shots.

I am so happy I came across this little gem. I am so excited to get started properly with this pack. I personally feel it has a lot of potential and I feel I can learn a lot from it. Some people may think it is abit pricey but if you think about how much a photography course is alone, around £300-400, then I think you have got yourself a fantastic deal with this pack! I can’t wait to share with you how I get on with it. Get down to WH Smiths for your pack, all you aspiring photographers!

Bye for now,
Emily Jane
xoxox

Leave a Reply

