I made Shortbread!

Hey Everyone, guess what! I’ve done it again, I’ve not been posting! I have been so busy with work and had no spare time whatsoever, and I’m not liking it, ha! I have started a few new adventures the past few weeks and I am finally starting to feel more postive again! I can’t wait to share things with you.

I’ve been baking again, yay! This time I wanted to try something different, something that can be a light snack so I decided to bake some shortbread and I believe they turned out pretty well! Take a look..

image

image
What do you think? They were pretty simple to make too! I used a recipe from ‘Cookies, Muffins and Cakes’ by Murdoch books but I added my own little twist as I didn’t want to make one big shortbread. It was a Scottish Shortbread I made, check out the receipe below..

Ingredients
275g Plain flour
125g Rice Flour
250g Unsalted Butter, softened
125g Caster Sugar
Some shapes to cut out!
(That’s all it is! Pretty simple right!)

Recipe

Preheat the oven to 160degress and line a baking tray with baking paper. (This is so the mixture doesn’t stick to the tray!)
Sift the flour into a mixing bowl and then add the butter and sugar. Use your fingertips to rub the butter into the flour mixture until it becomes a soft dough. (This isn’t a great part of baking, but it has to be done, you have to get your hands dirty to get the best results!)
Divide the dough into two portions put each in a separate plastic bag and then refrigerate for 20 minutes.
Once your dough has bounded in the fridge, you are ready to roll it out on the surface with a rolling pin. Grab you shapes, in my case I used hearts, flowers and butterflies, and press them in firmly into the mixture. Repeat this step until all the mixture has been used.
Once placed on the baking tray, sprinkle with sugar and then bake for 30-35 minutes until golden.
Leave to cool on the tray and then enjoy!

Are you going to try this recipe? Let me know how it turns out.

Enjoy!
Emily Jane
xoxox

4 thoughts on “I made Shortbread!

Leave a comment